Sunday, April 25, 2010

Free Golf Tips - Putting

Today, my quick tip is on putting.

Ever miss a 3-footer? Me too.

The key to a 3-footer is the set up.

1. Make your club face square to the hole.
2. Make sure your head is over the ball.
3. Pull your putter straight back 6 inches.

4. Push your putter straight forward and let the club face keep ongoing with an 18 inch (at least) follow through.

You'll find that you won't hit a short choppy stroke and the ball will
travel straight nicely into the cup.

When you feel this work, a 3-footer will never make you worry again.

Monday, April 19, 2010

Brian Davis - An honest golfer

Davis calls penalty on himself, gives up shot at first PGA win

By Jay Busbee

Imagine standing on the edge of achieving your life's dream. You make a small mistake that will cost you your dream -- but if you don't say anything, you might just get away with it. Would you own up to the mistake, or would you keep quiet and hope for the best?

Brian Davis isn't the best-known name in golf -- or even the hundredth-best-known -- but after Sunday, he ought to move up the list a few notches. Davis was facing Jim Furyk in a playoff at the Verizon Heritage, and was trying to notch his first-ever PGA Tour win.

Davis's approach shot on the first hole of the playoff bounced off the green and nestled in among some weeds. (You can see the gunk he was hitting out of in that shot above.) When Davis tried to punch the ball up onto the green, his club may have grazed a stray weed on his backswing.

So what's the big deal? This: hitting any material around your ball during your backswing constitutes a violation of the rule against moving loose impediments, and is an immediate two-stroke penalty. And in a playoff, that means, in effect, game over.

Okay, you can think that's a silly penalty or whatever, but that's not the point of this story. The point is that Davis actually called the violation on himself.

"It was one of those things I thought I saw movement out of the corner of my eye," Davis said. "And I thought we’d check on TV, and indeed there was movement." Immediately after the shot, Davis called over a rules official, who conferred with television replays and confirmed the movement -- but movement which was only visible on slow-motion. Unbelievable.

As soon as the replays confirmed the violation, Davis conceded the victory to Furyk, who was somewhat stunned -- but, make no mistake, grateful for the win.

"To have the tournament come down that way is definitely not the way I wanted to win," Furyk said. "It’s obviously a tough loss for him and I respect and admire what he did."

Furyk took home $1.03 million for the win. Davis won't exactly have to beg for change to get a ride home; he won $615,000 for second place. And he may have won much more than that by taking the honorable route.

To be sure, this isn't quite in the same category as J.P. Hayes, the golfer who disqualified himself from qualifying school after learning -- in his hotel room, all alone -- that he had played a nonqualifying ball; or Adam Van Houten, who cost his team an Ohio state title when he admitted signing an incorrect scorecard. For starters, Davis's shot was on television, and while he could have "not noticed" the movement, the TV cameras still did, and someone might have called him on it later on.

But the bigger deal is this -- the guy gave away a chance at winning his first-ever PGA Tour event because he knew that in golf, honesty is more important than victory. It's a tough lesson to learn, but here's hoping he gets accolades -- and, perhaps, some sponsorship deals -- that more than make up for the victory he surrendered.

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Phil Mickelson

Phil Mickelson wins the Masters !!!

Mickelson entered the day a stroke behind Lee Westwood for first place, but consistent play throughout, punctuated by the bizarre (a leaf, of all things, affecting one putt) and the jaw-dropping (one of the best Masters shots ever) put him atop the leaderboard to stay. He ended up winning by three strokes, efficiently canning a birdie to close out a spectacular round.

Congrats to Phil and Amy Mickelson. Here's hoping their greatest victories are still ahead.

Friday, April 9, 2010

The Masters - Augusta National

Augusta National teaches the word “humbling” to Sandy Lyle.

By Shane Bacon

After Thursday's first round, a few of the older guys were enjoying some red scores. You heard all about Tom Watson and Fred Couples, but did you know that 52-year-old Sandy Lyle was in contention as well, posting a 3-under 69?
That will be the last time you hear the words "Sandy Lyle" and "contention" at the Masters in 2010. Lyle spent most of his day chasing another record -- most contrasting rounds in Masters history.
Lyle's second round 86 didn't quite make it to the land of Mike Donald, who opened the 1990 Masters with an absolutely refulgent 8-under 64, only to follow that up with a 12-over 84 in the second round. Lucky for Mike, he made the cut, finishing with rounds of 77-76.

The 1988 Masters champion started his Friday double bogey - bogey - double bogey - bogey - double bogey, and didn't look back. After making the turn at 10-over 46, Lyle found himself on the par-3 12th, always a tough hole even when you're playing well. Lyle wasn't, and it took him six shots to get out of there. The only saving grace to his round was a birdie on the par-5 15th, pretty impressive considering the guy has thrown himself out of the weekend with his early play.

Lyle finished his round with a bogey on the 18th, proving once again that golf is in fact a four-letter word.